The Beginning of Athena Triathlete

This is something I have been thinking about doing for a long time. All the thoughts that swirl in my head when I’m training or competing in a triathlon… I always think of sharing because I’m sure that there are other women out there like me. Women who want to be active and competitive and faster… but seem to be trapped in a slightly overweight body.

I am an Athena Triathlete.

Those of you who know, Athena is the designation in triathlon that is for women over 150 lbs. (Men who are over 200 lbs. are designated as Clydesdales.) In a nutshell, what I have found is that Athena’s have a particular set of issues competing in tri’s. Personally, I feel it might be harder to move my 170 lb. body through the swim, bike, and run than someone who weights under 150. Maybe it is a “grass is always greener on the other side” mentality, but there are many times when I feel like my body only has ONE SPEED.

So, this blog will be about those challenges of training, managing weight, getting faster, finding gear and equipment that fit, whether to compete age group or Athena, and much more.

Stay tuned!

About athenatriathlete

I'm a graphic designer. I began long distance road cycling several years ago. Then, friends coerced me into signing up for a sprint triathlon -- and from then on I was hooked. I was reacquainted with my love of swimming and learned to be a runner again for the first time since my childhood. I'm always striving to get better, but I'm hampered by 20 lbs that just won't seem to go away. And so I am and Athena Triathlete! I've decided to embrace it. And keep moving forward.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beginning of Athena Triathlete

  1. Jim says:

    hey, time for a new post, need to know what is going on with you….

Leave a comment